Gig Harbor High students selected for aeronautics program

February 12, 2014 

Eighteen juniors at Gig Harbor High School have been selected as Washington Aerospace Scholars, a free competitive program that offers students a chance to earn a summer residency spot at the Museum of Flight.

The Gig Harbor group joins 308 additional scholars across the state.

The Phase One students will spend the next five months completing online coursework to earn one of the 166 residency slots. When the work is complete, the students can earn five credits in Space and Space Travel at the University of Washington. Those credits satisfy a UW graduation requirement.

To be accepted to the program, students must be U.S. citizens in their junior year with a 3.0 or better grade-point average.

The Washington Aerospace Scholars program is in its seventh year. It has partner programs in Texas, Virginia and Idaho. It is affiliated with NASA Johnson Space Center’s National High School Aerospace Scholars program.

This year’s scholars from Gig Harbor High are: Walker Carlson, Nathan David, Alexandrea Fenn, Casey Guardia, Keefe Kamp, Evelyn Lundeen, Jeremy Ma, Maxwell McPherson, Cole Moore, Benjamin Piacitelli, Jacob Powell, Jake Quincey, Ricci Kirsten Seguban, Satchel Smidt, Eldon Sorensen, Patrick Spieker, Claire Summa, Adrien Weale and Jacob Willenbrock.

The Peninsula Gateway is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service